Snow!

Yesterday morning I came out into the dark and quiet house, in anticipation of my much-loved morning alone time, and opened the blinds in the kitchen to find this:

snow1

Snow! It was so completely unexpected that I stared for a minute. Then I crept into the boys’ room and opened their blinds so they’d see it as soon as they woke.

A little later I heard them stirring and couldn’t help myself — I went in to be there when they saw it. They were having a just-waking-up argument, both bleary-eyed and disgruntled. I waited expectantly for several minutes. Finally I suggested to Nathan (who kept saying he intended to get up) that he look out the window.

“No,” he said, and crawled out of bed.

Now, his bunk is the middle one, and there is no way that even a glance out the window would fail to show him the snow. He walked sleepily over to his dresser, set right next to the window, took out a shirt, and walked out the bedroom door.

I stared after him in classic cartoon astonishment. Should I say something? How long could this oblivion go on? I mentioned to Ryan that I’d opened the blinds so they’d be able to see outside when they woke. “I don’t want to see outside,” he told me, scrunching his eyes closed.

At that point Nathan, dissatisfied with his shirt choice, came back for another one. And then he paused, one hand on his dresser, and gave a gasp.

Finally! From there things proceeded in satisfactory fashion.

snow2

snow3

Mica’s reaction to the snow, the first in her little baby memory, appeared initially as careful evaluation of the situation. If she could talk I think she’d have characterized this novel sight of everything covered in white as “trippy.”

snow4

Naturally she quickly progressed to exploring the strange new world created, which was only hampered by the fact that we have no decent snow clothes for her. In particular we have no good mittens; socks are a reasonable short-term substitute (if she’ll leave them on), but they can’t keep little baby hands warm for long. She did her best, though, to taste, stomp, and mash the snow in a valiant attempt to understand it.

snow5

snow6

Leave a Reply

