A Backpack For Ryan

I’ve had kids’ backpacks on my mental sewing list for some time. Nathan has one that I made a long time ago from an old pair of Dave’s jeans, and I still like it, but it was definitively figure-out-as-I-go and there are some things I could have done better. And now that we’re going to Free School two days a week again, I’d like to pack their lunches in backpacks rather than the much less convenient bags I made last year.

r_backpack

For this project I turned to By Annie, because I’ve had awesome luck with using their foam instead of batting to give body to bags. Also they have lots of patterns on their site, including one for a mini backpack.

Yes, using a pattern has some advantages. His backpack has pockets in front, pockets in back, and pockets inside — some zippered, some not, one with little credit card sized slots. The whole thing is sturdy and compact and (he agrees with me) pretty cool looking, especially since he got to choose the fabrics.

And now it’s time to work on Nathan’s…

Leave a Reply

