Chicks Dig Scars

These days feel like spring, and the kids are taking advantage of them with lots of outside play. Recently the boys, after a long day of playing at our house, went with the neighbor kids down to the nearby apartment complex to continue things there.

Not ten minutes later one of the other mothers called me. “Nathan fell and hit his head!” she told me, clearly upset. “He cut his eye! I’m walking him home now!”

Needless to say, I went out to meet them. At least he was walking, right? But I could understand her urgency; when I met him I discovered he’d split his eyebrow open (not his eye, thank goodness), and both hands and one side of his face were covered in blood. It’s never a great thing when your child comes home looking like an extra in an action movie.

The good news is that he didn’t have any signs of concussion. The other good news is that he didn’t even need stitches; thanks to advances in medical technology, the doctor just glued his wound closed. And the last good news is that (we assured him) chicks dig scars. It must be true; my brother Bob told me so many times.

black_eye

Nathan is a bit uncertain about that last piece of good news.

Leave a Reply

