New Things – Theater

I have a bit of a goal this year to try new things with the boys. This is not just for their benefit, but for mine. It really livens up the homeschooling experience, and I find that it keeps my life more interesting.

I have a variety of things planned, and on Saturday we made one of them happen: we went to a play. They’ve seen movies, of course, but this was the first time they’d seen an actual live performance, which is really a different experience. I can’t say that I’ve ever been a devoted theater-goer, but I have enjoyed performances, and have fond but distant hopes of taking them to some of my favorites, like A Midsummer Night’s Dream, when they’re older. So to get the ball rolling, we saw the Oregon Children’s Theatre production of Skippyjon Jones.

theater1

theater2

theater3

One hour long, with lots of music and an insane number of puns, this seemed to work for them — i.e., they said they liked it, and Ryan at least wants to see another one.

Leave a Reply

