First Picking

It’s u-pick time again! I’ve been keeping a close eye on the Sherwood Orchards web site, and last week when the boys’ grandma was here we made an excursion to get sweet and pie cherries. The sweet ones were Royal Ann, yellow blushed with red and purely delicious. What we didn’t eat fresh, we pitted and froze against the winter. (Ryan, my little fruit monster, loves eating them frozen.)

cherries

The pie cherries this year went mainly into jam. It’s the first time I’ve made cherry jam, and I was a bit taken aback by the time it took to cook down all those beautiful juices into a consistency that seemed thick enough. And afterwards… well, to be honest I’m not sure it was worth it. I know, it’s heresy… But even though I’ve been converted to the merits of cherry crisp, the cherry jam just isn’t doing it for me. Too cherry, not enough crisp, maybe. Nathan doesn’t care for it either.

It’s a mixed start to the fruit season, but we’re only just beginning.

Speaking of grandma, I completely failed to take a reasonable number of pictures while she was here, but she was a big hit, as I hope these indicate:

grandma1

grandma2

grandma3

The fact that all of my few pictures capture her with Ryan is not a bias against Nathan; Nathan is just harder to coax into a lap right now.

Leave a Reply

