Pie Cherries

After discovering last year how good pie cherries could be, I’ve been looking forward to going back to Sherwood Orchards for more. And yet, I almost missed out. A phenomenal cold knocked me out for more than a week, and by the time I dragged myself and the kids to the orchard, it was their absolute last day of pie cherry picking. Whew! When I think of how close I came to missing out for another year, I get chills.

The cherries were sparse, high in the trees, and many were starting to go bad. Also Nathan was dying to leave almost as soon as we got there. That might have had something to do with the fact that his father had promised to play two-person Portal 2 with him when we returned. So like last year, I only got three quarts, enough for three mouth-watering, dish-me-up-some-heaven cherry crisps. I’d been toying with the idea of trying some cherry preserves this year, but I think that will have to wait. Next year…

Leave a Reply

