Exceptionally Early

Two Christmases ago, when Ryan was just a little non-mobile guy and Nathan was two, I remember decorating for Christmas and thinking that I should really make my boys some Christmas stockings.

This past Christmas, after putting up all of the non-breakable decorations I had available, I thought the same thing. I had a three-year-old and a one-year-old with no stockings, and Nathan at least was getting old enough to understand and enjoy stockings.

I spent about a week of Dave’s Christmas break sketching a fantastically complicated and beautiful stocking. Then, three days before Christmas, I threw that out and started on a much simpler concept, which I nevertheless failed to complete for Christmas Eve.

But I would like to report that I am totally ahead of schedule for next Christmas. It’s only January, and I’ve already completed the boys’ stockings! How organized is that?

And best of all, I really like them. I’m glad I ditched my original idea, because these are simple in concept but (in my humble opinion) lovely in execution. Nathan’s is the red one and Ryan’s the blue, and I like them both a lot. I think they’ll be sturdy enough to last, too.

Posted in Making. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Exceptionally Early”

  1. Kristy Says:

    yay! they look beautiful. my mom made our stockings too, and we still use them; they’re a treasure.

  2. Christmas Morning « Ilex Quilts Says:

    […] year I stuffed stockings for the first time, since after all I only completed the stockings last January. And I suppose that, in my own defense, I wasn’t entirely lazy about it. I did […]

  3. Week Of Christmas: The Finale | Ilex Quilts Says:

    […] Mica’s stocking on Christmas Eve, which means that she gets a stocking at an earlier age than either of the boys did. This either means that I’m getting more organized as I go along here, or that occasionally […]


Leave a Reply

